home subscribe
Backstage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Big Picture  Hop To Forums  Off Topic...    Frustration as an Actor
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Frustration as an Actor Login/Join

posted
I'm a college freshman who just started college this year. Before this, acting has been a very big part of my life, I went to studio classes in NYC (one with the same teacher for over 3 years who I have grown very fond of)And have been working with a management to try and find work. (As well as pursuing work myself via casting notices online)
Now that I am starting college, (relatively far from NYC) I won't be able to go on auditions, I have to stop with the studio classes, and will be much less involved with acting in general.
Now I am taking advantage of every opportunity in college that involve acting, but there aren't many at all. I went to a liberal arts college because I do want to study other things, but I could NEVER see myself pursuing another career. And I physically and mentally feel the need to act, and I am frustrated because I lack opportunities. (Not to mention I will miss the guidance of my teacher a lot) But the lack of acting, is physically toll taking on me, and I feel as though I'm wasting time while I could be pursuing this career. But leaving college is not an option for me. I would really appreciate any advice that could help me deal with this frustration. Thanks.

Posts: 3 | Location: NJ | Registered: September 07, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Sean Penn
posted Hide Post
If you're not enjoying the school you're at because of the lack of acting opportunities, then it sounds like you need to transfer to a different school. Either one that has a bigger acting program that would satisfy you, or one that is in or close to NYC so you could go back to your acting there. There are so many colleges in NYC, where you could learn other things like you say, in addition to doing the acting that you love.