home subscribe
Backstage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Moderated Forums  Hop To Forums  The Working Actor    What type of class?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What type of class? Login/Join

Sean Penn
posted
Hi All,
I have decided to take acting classes and have gathered which classes seem interesting and what I'd like to take. My only question is What would be the most beneficial to take first? Commercials, Scene Study, or something else?

I would say I am a beginner actor and due to a past experience unrelated to performing I lost my confidence. I love acting and singing and I am looking to get back out there. I am 20 so would taking a youth class be good at all?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Posts: 127 | Location: LA | Registered: July 10, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post

Posts: 1868 | Location: LA,CA | Registered: May 06, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Sean Penn
posted Hide Post
Improv would give me a confidence boost wouldn't it. I plan on taking MB improv. Which is free. Should I complete a few weeks of that before going on to the next class?

Posts: 127 | Location: LA | Registered: July 10, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
No!

You should do at least one or two classes from one of the Big 4-UCB, Second City, IO, Groundlings.

Monkey Butler is what you do AFTER and hopefully for the rest of your career as it's great on going improv training.

Commercial Casting directors go as far as saying must have improv training from the Big 4.

Even both commercial and theatrical agents say they like to see the Big 4 improv schools in your training.

Posts: 1868 | Location: LA,CA | Registered: May 06, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
posted Hide Post
Agree; I would take improv first. Every commercial agent I have ever met has always stressed the importance of improv from the big 4.