home subscribe
Backstage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Moderated Forums  Hop To Forums  The Working Actor    People with day jobs - what's your plan?
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

People with day jobs - what's your plan? Login/Join

Morgan Freeman
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Newbie09:
Interesting thread. I went "all in" towards acting over the last 4 years. I have had some success, booked some cool things, met some great peeps, and had some great experiences. However, financially I am still no where near to making a living doing it... I have over 7 Years of Sales experience, and I am now considering going back to a full time sales job. I need money right now more than anything else. I am hoping to land a work from home sales job, which would allow me (hopefully) some time to still get out and audition... If I book, I would have to use a vacation day or a sick day... I am not quitting acting, but may be putting it on hiatus, while I get my finances back in order.

There seems to be a lot of flexible sales jobs that are commission only. The only problem from my experience was that the boss I used to work for was a greedy prick who's bottom line was really, really high in the sky...

Laugh when people try to take you as a fool.

Posts: 133 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: January 06, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Russell Crowe
posted Hide Post
Depending on your academic background or whether you have a skilled trade, the ideal job for artists is being self-employed.

This could include

- real estate agent or mortgage broker
- contractor (accounting, tax, law, defense, or IT/programming, SEO, SAP/ERP, or business consulting etc)