home subscribe
Backstage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Show Business  Hop To Forums  Survival Jobs    Any Personal Trainers Out There?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any Personal Trainers Out There? Login/Join

Kevin Bacon
posted
Are there any personal trainers that have found a good gym to work at? I keep reading some bad reviews about the big ones like Equinox, Crunch, etc.

I work as a trainer now which has given me a flexible schedule so I can audition here in NC. Would like to have a similar setup out in LA when I move there.

Posts: 27 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: March 22, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Sean Penn
posted Hide Post
A majority of the trainers in LA are also IN THE BUSINESS. Any good gym with good trainers is going to be tough to get into, like a well paying bar doesn't have much turnover with its bartenders.
The key is relationships. What can you set up NOW and leverage from NC before you get to LA? You may need to work at one of the 'big box' gyms and transfer out there, so at least you have a job. Downside, of course, is that the % that they take is much higher, and the flexibility is usually lower.
Bootcamps are an option, but that market is getting very saturated and there are some very good ones. That's a numbers game. It's all about how many people you know.
Crossfit is also an option as it is VERY popular in LA, and runs about $200/month, at least, but again, that would require you to get additional certification.
It's not going to be easy, that's for sure, but it's doable.

Posts: 25 | Location: Atlanta (9 years in LA) | Registered: August 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
posted Hide Post
Yeah that's what I figured. You have to compete for everything out there! I have a connection to the owner of a training studio out there through a friend, so I'll see if that works out.