Backstage Message Board
Model Management Group NY (MMG)-Are They Legit?

This topic can be found at:
http://bbs.backstage.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/640104921/m/921109683

August 06, 2011, 06:42 AM
dreamingbig
Model Management Group NY (MMG)-Are They Legit?
Hi! Yes, I have heard a few complaints but other people have been saying they're the real deal. I'm confused now. They look like they're legit, with over 2,000 likes on facebook. That means people do like them. Also, the models they represent, I think they do represent them. I don't know. Any current experiences, or anyone have advice. Please Help.
August 06, 2011, 10:19 AM
HIModel
They are a scam! Go on google and type the companys name and the word scam next to it. You will find a few articles that will help you determine.

Good Luck!
August 06, 2011, 10:24 AM
HIModel
Here is a great link of what I am talking about:

http://www.ripoffreport.com/mo...roup-nymmg-2fe84.htm
August 06, 2011, 11:07 AM
daddysgirl
There is a legit agency is Philadelphia that dies some work in NYC called model management agency and sometimes people get the two confused. MMA is well respected. MMG has a lot of complaints.
August 25, 2011, 03:04 PM
OliviaD
We are signed with MMG. The only issue we had was the $200 for the website fee, but you don't HAVE to pay it, but they do warn you that if you don't use it, you may not get much work. They also use Actors Access as well. We haven't gotten much work from them, but it's been slow in the toddler market (I have a 20 month old). I will say that if you can be signed with more than just this one agency do so. HTH!
October 16, 2011, 10:05 AM
HuntersMommi227
I sent my son photos into them when he was about 7 months old they said they were interested. and i filled out the papers and send them in and i did not hear a reply back from the booking agent she was very nice now i am reading all these scam alerts about them kind makes me glad i did not go further with them.


Jonathan Hunter 2 27 2010
October 16, 2011, 01:43 PM
Queens2011
OliviaD the $200 is for tbe talent pro website. its a link with the talent info and up to 20 photos + video and companies submit them to clients.we all pay for it.

you should do this. remember the money is not for your agency , its for your own good

when parents says do not any pay money they mean to the agencies not to the web talent that hold your photos and info

GL


Queen talent
October 18, 2011, 12:00 PM
HuntersMommi227
@ Queens2011 MMG told me that he would need Prof photos and at the time he was 7 months old I was not about to pay that when he would change so frequently.


Jonathan Hunter 2 27 2010
October 29, 2011, 07:45 AM
misssmb
My dd recently outgrew a top NY Children's agency and we moved over to NYMMG. We couldn't be happier. You do not have to pay anything if you do not want to. The fee is for the initial web set up and the web fees for a year. I know a girl who is with them and is not on their web because she does not have the money. They still send her out. Also, they did not push pictures on us and if you want pictures you can use who they like and recommend or you can go out and get your own. My dd has been sent out on a few great things already. They are very personal and accessible where at some agencies you feel rushed off when you need to communicate. During our first meeting with them, they were so excited to work with my dd that we were there 2 hours and I know of other people who had the same experience. They did not sell us anything! Maybe they received a bad rap in the beginning, but they really are legitimate. My dd just booked her first job last night, so we are very glad we made the move!
October 29, 2011, 09:39 AM
misssmb
Thanks! I sent you a message;-)
November 03, 2011, 03:40 PM
williamchristopher
They are a scam. they get as many people as they can to sign up with their agency and pay that yearly $200.

Their roster consists of like 1000's of people, and they have like 2 agents.

I did a short internship with an agency that ran a similar business model. It took me like a couple of hours into my first day to realize how they were operating.

Basically, your headshot and resume will sit in a filing cabinet with thousands of others.

Their roster is so large, if you call them they will pretend to know who you are. They will be incredibly friendly and engaging... as they quickly try to pull up your file to try to remember.

They will probably make an effort to get you auditions (on actors access, etc), but don't expect much... this is not how they make their money.

if there are a lot of complaints written about them on the internet, that is a pretty clear indication of their legitimacy.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm2729431/
November 03, 2011, 06:44 PM
misssmb
I am sorry, but I tend to disagree! They are very personable. Maybe there are some talent that they sign and slip through the cracks, but I am sure that happens everywhere. They know us personally already and answer every email. They also call us for every little detail on a job. My dd hasn't been with them that long, but they are already sending her out alot and did not push any of the web fees. I even know a girl who is with them and they send her out and she is not on their web. I also know another girl who has gotten so much with them. Perhaps the company you worked with was a scam, but I honestly do not think they are. We are not new in this business. My dd has been in it for several years now, so I think I would know if we were scammed. Just saying....
September 05, 2012, 04:47 PM
binker
Were just contacted by this company. They did not mention any fees and said they pay for everything. I also looked up MMG on IMDBPro and the have a list of several reputable, well known actors. What gives with all the negative reviews out there?
September 05, 2012, 08:15 PM
momofjlay
We were contacted by them today as well, they sent their "talent manual" everything seems pretty normal and it doesn't mention a charge for the website. I see where they are said to be scammers but only for the fact that they charge for their website. with the website, are you booking jobs? And if its not mandatory how are they scammers? Just wanted to get some real reviews before we sign anything
September 12, 2012, 07:13 PM
OhioDad
We meet with them next week for our DD and all the research I've done tells me they did have a bad rep around 2007 or so and had some bad people working for them. They've changed management and brought in new people and changed their recruiting practices from what I understand. I'm pretty comfortable with signing our DD with them knowing they are not one of the top management companies in NY for child actors/models, but then we do not live in the city and they are willing to give us a shot. No money to sign, no forced headshots or addition to the web site. Its all optional and our discretion to do so. We'll see next week what happens when we get there and I'll report back.