home subscribe
Backstage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  The Craft  Hop To Forums  Acting Methods and Approaches    Should I keep being an actor?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Should I keep being an actor? Login/Join

posted
I have been acting for about 15 years.
However, whenever I take a break for lack of roles (i have a multiethnic look) or monetary (classes are expensive) I go through this weird process. Whenever I do a scene, and you have reach down deep to expose yourself emotionally,it always feels like a scab that's almost healed being ripped open again and then when I act more, it's fine. Is this normal?

If I really was an actor, wouldn't it be easier to get in character?

Thanks.

Posts: 5 | Location: Texas | Registered: November 16, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
posted Hide Post
You say it's like ripping a scab off... that doesn't sound fun. My question would be: Why would you keep doing it?

My general advice on this question is: If there is any question in your mind, if you can imagine yourself doing anything else, do something other then acting?

Posts: 714 | Location: Hollywood, CA | Registered: August 10, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I've thought about doing other things and tried them.
I even took a career test and all my other career options didn't feel as satisfactory.

The only other thing I can think of is working in development.
and im considering that currently.

I really enjoy the art of putting a character together and performing a great scene.
but I have some acting friends but I find most actors annoying.

Posts: 5 | Location: Texas | Registered: November 16, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
posted Hide Post