Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Newbie
Posted
Has anyone had any experience with One Source Talent in NYC?
 
Posts: 9 | Location: Pine Bush Ny | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Harrison Ford
Picture of CSilvera
Posted Hide Post
google is your best friend
 
Posts: 595 | Location: New York | Registered: May 25, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Our DD is signed up with One Source. We have to pay a fee every month for them to submit her to auditions and go-sees. We went to their recommended photographer and got decent, reasonably priced headshots taken for them to use. But we signed up back in Oct. 2007, and in that time (nine mos.), we've only gotten a handful phone calls letting us know that they submitted her to a client, and that if the client was interested, we would hear from them. So far, no one has called her in for a go see or an audition. The one thing she did get from their public audition posts online was a part in a local theater production, which I had to submit her to myself. So, are they legit? Yes, I think so. But do they do a lot for children? I'm not so sure anymore. We will finish the year, then stop paying if we don't get anything. Hope that was helpful. Good luck with your decision.
 
Posts: 4 | Location: Stratford, CT | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Picture of dramamama
Posted Hide Post
A google search will tell you everything you need to know; ie posts on ripoffreport.com. A legitimate agent will not charge you ANYTHING to submit you to auditions and go-sees. They get paid only when your child does. I would avoid One Source at all costs, and Butterfly819, your instinct to flee at the end of your contract is a good one. I'm betting the one "job" your DD got from their online posts was not even a paid one. You can, and I'm sure will, do better for your child elsewhere.
 
Posts: 259 | Location: CT | Registered: April 06, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
What type of fee do they charge you. I was told to run if an ageny wants to charge you. Is that true. This is new to us.
 
Posts: 9 | Location: Pine Bush Ny | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
Butterfly819 I would stop paying now and not wait till the end of the year --- any legit agent does not charge anything for their services.
 
Posts: 249 | Location: new York | Registered: December 21, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
You all helped me too! I will stop paying now. (The fee was supposed to be for them to be able to electronically submit their talent, and continue to update their database with legit clients.)

Thanks again!
 
Posts: 4 | Location: Stratford, CT | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
OMG! You should run source one is a rip off We went to the interview and we were really exited cause she got selected, but when we got home I googled them and they rip ppl off. An agency should not charge anything. But I do have a question, now if we sign with an agent or manager do I have to pay for head shot or do they do it and take it when she start getting jobs?
 
Posts: 7 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: August 29, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Denzel Washington
Posted Hide Post
You will need to pay for your own headshots. You should also be able to choose your own photographer. An agency can give you some recommendations (usually several photographers they like) but if they insist you take pictures with ONE specific photographer, that is not good.
 
Posts: 469 | Location: New York | Registered: March 29, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
even though she is 7 years old? I am new at this and we have gone to a couple of these "management" but didn't pay then this year I don't know why we deceided to go with Industry Model and I think they are a scam too I don't know.
So how do i go about this, like how do i get info on casting calls, auditions, and real agents, managers what the difference?
 
Posts: 7 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: August 29, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Denzel Washington
Posted Hide Post
I can only suggest that you do a lot of reading. Most of the info you are looking for is mentioned in the many threads here. The top NYC modeling agencies that are legit are also mentioned here in several threads. If you are looking for a top modeling agency, then start with Product, Ford, Willy Kids, CESD, Generation Model managemet, & Funny Face Today.

Your agent will get you the auditions/go sees. You can also take a look at NYCastings or actors access. You really need to READ. This info is already here and I am not going to regurgitate it all. Do the RESEARCH.
 
Posts: 469 | Location: New York | Registered: March 29, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Picture of California P.
Posted Hide Post
Stay away from One Source- rip off ! Your not to pay a thing especially to audition and go-sees. Who plays for a go-see you should report their ass. DAMN CROOKS !!!! It's people like them and others the try to bring the business down. Scam artist. They don't have the talent to be what we are, so instead they try to rip us off. Cancel them now if you can !!!! NYCasting, Actorsaccess- yes you pay to be members but it's legit and worth it. Hope this was helpful.


"Some people dream of success... While others wake up and work hard at it"
 
Posts: 303 | Location: NYC | Registered: November 04, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Johnny Depp
Posted Hide Post
As noted in our current contract with an absolute top agency we are signed with in nyc....it is clearly noted in their contract....."Industry standard pratice, you will NOT be paying to be a part of our agency, and you should NEVER pay any agency to do so." You should read up on standard practice and research these scam operations prior to dishing out any $$$!!
 
Posts: 63 | Location: NY | Registered: June 02, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Julia Roberts
Posted Hide Post
Thanks for posting your experience. I've added it to our scams thread, hoping it will help others, as well.

http://bbs.backstage.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/932105/m/12...?r=12110087#12110087


- MIB -
If you can dream, you can do. Making it happen is up to you.
 
Posts: 832 | Location: SoCal | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
thank you all who replied and helped. We didn't sign with them we told them we'll get back and never did. Also you should put about Industry Model they scout you in the mall and you get suckered into it and it ends up being a ton of money, they do send you to auditions but chances are you never get any I don't know firts hand but I know someone who signed with them. I'm actually meeting with Suzelle which I look up and they are legit. thank guys
 
Posts: 7 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: August 29, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community Page 1 2  
 


© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.