Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Newbie
Posted
I just met with an agent in NJ for my 10, 5 and 20 month old twins. She said she "loved them" and wanted to accept them. Then she hit me with the you need headshots and comp cards for the 10 and 5 and a small fee to put the babies on the web.

Is this normal? I was told (and have read) that there are no fees until the child gets work. Help...
 
Posts: 2 | Location: Philadelphia, PA | Registered: November 07, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
Posted Hide Post
Who was the manager??? Kathy Donahue?
 
Posts: 279 | Location: My Child's World | Registered: July 11, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Yes...it was
 
Posts: 2 | Location: Philadelphia, PA | Registered: November 07, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
Posted Hide Post
I don't know anything about this particular person, but yes, you will need the headshots and comp cards. If she insits you use one photographer only then she is most likely getting a kickback.

The web fee is relatively new, but sadly becoming standard. Some choose not to put the kids on the website if there is a fee.
 
Posts: 258 | Location: NJ/NY | Registered: December 22, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Al Pacino
Posted Hide Post
Maybe Philidelphia is different but in NY there is no reason for headshots at such a young age. I don't know this woman but I would look elsewhere, JMHO.
 
Posts: 103 | Location: NY | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Picture of Ariel
Posted Hide Post
I live in NYC and many young actors are getting headshots/comps.

Anyway, I think she's right unless she tries to get you to take pictures with one specific photographer. That'd probably be a scam.


"If you want to be more successful, double your failure rate" - Bill Gates
 
Posts: 31 | Location: New York City | Registered: November 11, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
There doesn't seem to be a whole lot of info on Kathy Donahue, based in Cherry Hill, NJ. Can you please give me any info you might know about her management company? TIA
 
Posts: 26 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: July 07, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
 
Posts: 97 | Location: NJ/NYC | Registered: November 29, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
Yes, that is the same Kathy. I read that article too about her. It just says she attended JRP though, not that she is affiliated with them now, right? Here is her website. www.kathysstars.com

What do you think of this? Seems legit but one never knows.
 
Posts: 26 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: July 07, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
Picture of avidactor
Posted Hide Post
You have to look at what this person can do for you. From reading her background, I can see she is a minnow in a small pond. Her credentials are laughable. Find a more reputable agent. Im not saying she isn't legit, what Im saying is you want to find the best agent. When looking for an agent, you want to find an agent that is going to work hard for you, get you legitimate respectable work. This person looks like they can book your kid work dressing up as a hotdog by a hot dog stand in Hoboken. Get a real agent.
 
Posts: 453 | Location: Homesick | Registered: October 18, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
First, this is info for someone else. My child has a real agent. Kathy, from what I see, is a manager, not an agent. Her site actually has real jobs that she has gotten booked for her kids. I am looking for responses from people that might have actually been with her company or know someone who has. But thanks for the harsh advice anyway. If I was a newbie to the biz I might have taken offense.
 
Posts: 26 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: July 07, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by 6angels:
I just met with an agent in NJ for my 10, 5 and 20 month old twins. She said she "loved them" and wanted to accept them. Then she hit me with the you need headshots and comp cards for the 10 and 5 and a small fee to put the babies on the web.

Is this normal? I was told (and have read) that there are no fees until the child gets work. Help...

I've found this to be the norm. Our agent told us to get a headshot and a body shot if we wanted DD on their website. There was also a fee to put her on there, although it was totally our choice. It has paid off though and again, it does seem to be the norm. Our agent gave us the option of using their photographer or whoever we wanted including Picture People.
She just says to use snapshots for auditions and gosees.
I think most agents (at least on the East Coast) don't cover your photos until your child gets work anymore (someone please correct me if I'm wrong). I know they used to do that on the West Coast.
In any case, best of luck!
 
Posts: 41 | Location: Philly | Registered: April 29, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
Does anyone have any positive experience with Kathy? If so, would love to hear about it. Also, any other agencies in Philly/NJ area. How about any experience with VS Talent? Do you think they are about the same as Kathy or are they a little bit bigger than her? Any info would be great.
 
Posts: 100 | Location: NJ | Registered: May 18, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
CHMom3,
I pm'd you
 
Posts: 52 | Location: Philadelphia, PA | Registered: September 29, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
Picture of avidactor
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mom2model:
First, this is info for someone else. My child has a real agent. Kathy, from what I see, is a manager, not an agent. Her site actually has real jobs that she has gotten booked for her kids. I am looking for responses from people that might have actually been with her company or know someone who has. But thanks for the harsh advice anyway. If I was a newbie to the biz I might have taken offense.


Not quite sure if this was geared towards me, but if it was, it was not meant to offend you. I wasn't even talking to you! It was to the original poster. I was telling her to go with a reputable agent. uh, there was nothing in my original response that was harsh, or offensive. relax. No one was talking to YOU.
 
Posts: 453 | Location: Homesick | Registered: October 18, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community Page 1 2  
 


© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.