Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Child and Teen Actors, Singers, and Dancers    Can someone tell me if this is a legit audition?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Johnny Depp
Posted
I found an audition for the movie "Blood Moon Rising" (directed by Brian Skiba) on a message board called Zona. I submitted my resume and photo and not an hour later get a reply, not during business hours or anything. They sent me what looked like a standard letter which was an "Invitation" to the audition. It is located in a restaurant normal shopping center.
I'm just suspicious because I've never used the site before and I've never gone to one of these auditions before. I'm hoping they even looked at my pictures and didn't just send me an invite because I emailed them!
Should I go for it?
 
Posts: 83 | Location: ARIZONA | Registered: February 17, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
Posted Hide Post
Trust your instincts.... sounds like BS to me. An "invitation" to audition at a restaurant in a shopping center?????
 
Posts: 297 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
We once had an audtion in a Starbucks for a low budget short but lead role.It was legit, the film was produced. Have a friend go with you and make sure it's OK.Did they give a contact phone number? Call and ask some random questions to feel it out. Every "invitation" is an opportunity if legit.
Good Luck!
 
Posts: 23 | Location: NY | Registered: October 26, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
Posted Hide Post
Another warning sign might be that this film has already been completed and is for sale on DVD:

http://www.victoryangelfilms.com/vaf/?q=node/20
 
Posts: 297 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Johnny Depp
Posted Hide Post
Where did you find that the film was completed? On IMDB it says it is in preproduction and I can't find the DVD section!
And no there was no phone number listed, just the address of the audition spot.
 
Posts: 83 | Location: ARIZONA | Registered: February 17, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
Posted Hide Post
I simply "googled" the name of the film, along with the director's name. The web page I linked you to is from May of 2007, so I'm thinking he created his film early last year. Also, on IMDb, it says it's a 14 minute film and I didn't see where it says it's in preproduction.

Anyway, it looks like he filmed it in AZ (where you're from). Maybe he's doing another short film?? From the web page I linked you to, it looks like there is a series of 7 films or something.
 
Posts: 297 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Child and Teen Actors, Singers, and Dancers    Can someone tell me if this is a legit audition?

© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.