So I got an unsolicited email about a site called "The Casting Director" (www.thecastingdirector.com). It says the service is $2.99/month and according to the email (quote):
Casting directors use our website to find talent, it’s that simple. We work as casting assistants for some of the most respected industry professionals in the business. They believe in our company and share the same desire to keep actors away from companies that charge ridiculous fees for services that should be free.
Has anyone used this site and/or have anything to report on it?
In Southern California there are only TWO sites that you NEED and a total of 3 sites that are worth it.
They are: LA Casting(Required) Actors Access (Required) Now Casting
What I like about the Casting Director is how they try to say they're not scammy by making fun of Explore Talent who steals castings from Craigslist and Mandy.
Posts: 1315 | Location: LA,CA | Registered: May 06, 2009
that new casting director site gave me free headshots! They look amazing too and I've auditioned at their office twice already. It's so worth it. Too many people are quick to judge and say negative things without doing any research about someone.
Question? This agency, who I signed with when I moved here said I am REQUIRED to pay 85 dollars to be listed on their website so they can submit me electronically. I thought it was illegal for an agency to charge actors anything other than 10% of profits? Also, what's funny is that they don't have a website yet but seems like the 200 plus clients they have (It's a commercial agency) if they all pay that may be enough to have a website built. Seems like we are paying for the actual website to be built. This is shady right? I REALLY wanna give the agency name but I don't want to get in trouble because they send me out a lot. I booked two nationals with them so I know they made at least a little money off me. Should I just suck it up and pay so I don't get any crap from them? Any advice?
I'm too afraid to mention it on here but I decided to just pay it. It really sucks but I look at it this way, I wouldn't have booked any commercials without them and even though it is total BULL****! There are some battles you're not gonna win. 85 bucks buys me groceries and at least a half a tank of gas but whatever. Sometimes this business just sucks. O, and obviously I can't post a pic or the agency will know it's me From what I hear, there are a lot of people ticked off about it so I'm sure whoever you THINK it is, you're probably right.
Heck I just paid the darn 85 bucks this morning. Why bother fighting with them or risk loosing my representation. THe commercial auditions are going to pick up for the holidays so it was worth it for me. I got these guys by just walking in off the street and asking for a meeting and being that I don't know may people or have many contacts, it's probably my only move.
I use them too. I honestly don't remember how I first heard about them but they did shoot the headshots that I'm currently using and they do offer a free headshot day once a month every month. That alone was worth the $2.99 to me but I totally understand if that's not worth it to you.
Also, every once in a while they offer free seminars with acting coaches around town. I went to one given by Joe Palese which was awesome and DID NOT include any selling whatsoever.
I recently joined them too (yesterday). I kept hearing stuff about them but didn't believe it. So I gave it a shot without expecting too much of course because everyone is so full of crap out here. Before I joined I went to the site to get the number so I could call. I called them and the dude that I guess runs the place talked to me for about 20 or so minutes. I told him I wanted to start writing so that I could start producing my own stuff. Heck I ain't getting any parts on my own. I can't even get an audition so some friends and I invested in a cheap camera. Anyway the dude said I could stop by and he'd help me. He has some decent writing credits. I stopped by and he sat with me and helped me with some writing stuff for close to an hour. Funny thing is, I wasn't even registered on the site yet and he didn't even ask. He just helped me. I was waiting for him to say, "Now you owe us $" HAHA, it was really cool and I asked the dude why he helped me and he thought it was weird that people out here think it's weird to just help people. They're good people over there and I hope they last.So many bullshit sites and stuff out there.
Hey AmbitiousB! How was that seminar? where was it?
As for the seminar, the one I went to was given by Joe Palese in his studio- http://www.theactorspace.com I don't know when the next one will be and which coach they'll get but for now I'm just waiting on next month's headshot day.
Posts: 11 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: November 07, 2009
Yeah that guy is really cool. Funny accent, I thought he was the one who gave me free headshots before but it wasn't. I got them somewhere else though because I didn't know about him or the website. I got the sites mixed up.
I think there is another site advertising a lot of the same stuff but it cost 30 bucks a month and looks like a total scam. That's not the same guy. I don't wanna mention the site because I know dude doesn't want a lot of people to join. Hes such a good dude and really helped me. Very down to earth and will do whatever he can to help you. I still can't believe he helps all those people and doesn't get anything out of it.
I never heard of that acting school before. There are so many though who really knows where to go. Someone mentioned Santa MOnica COmmunity college. If you are a CA resident for at least a year, you get some kind of discount on credits. Gonna look into that one.
Just a heads up because i know a lot of people are getting called on this.
If anyone is called to audition for "Carlawood" Don't go. It's a huge scam. They are trying to get you to join some company. Cost money. Waste of time.