I was recently contacted for a job posted on craiglist ny and the person told me that to do the job I would need to be an official client of talent watchers. It just seems a little fishy to me because I think you have to pay to sign up with that site. Has anyone heard of this?
Posts: 11 | Location: NY | Registered: February 20, 2009
Hello! I registered with them last month and I already got 2 auditions. I am filming next week. Look, they are legit. They advertise their roles and the website but the jobs are legit. I am very happy with their service. It's the same like backstage and other casting call websites.. Good luck!!!
Posts: 4 | Location: NYC | Registered: March 27, 2009
Snort...it never fails! Any time something is outed as a scam, IMMEDIATELY a brand-new anonymous Backstage member who's never posted before mysteriously appears at that very moment, JUST to post about how wonderful the company is! Of course, that person never posts in any other discussion, and disappears quickly.
Can we say "shill?"
(And no...if Talent Hunters contacts people who DIDN'T sign up for their service, and claims there's a role for them but they have to sign up to see it...then no, they are NOT like Backstage or Actors Access or the other casting websites. Legit casting sites don't troll for customers and contact people who didn't contact them first.)
Posts: 431 | Location: New York | Registered: December 29, 2008
I think you are wrong. I have many people telling good things about Talent Watchers..They do not look for people. MY agent told me about them. And another agency in town told me positive things..
Cheers and good luck!
Posts: 4 | Location: NYC | Registered: March 27, 2009
Originally posted by TMR: Snort...it never fails! Any time something is outed as a scam, IMMEDIATELY a brand-new anonymous Backstage member who's never posted before mysteriously appears at that very moment, JUST to post about how wonderful the company is! Of course, that person never posts in any other discussion, and disappears quickly.
Can we say "shill?"
(And no...if Talent Hunters contacts people who DIDN'T sign up for their service, and claims there's a role for them but they have to sign up to see it...then no, they are NOT like Backstage or Actors Access or the other casting websites. Legit casting sites don't troll for customers and contact people who didn't contact them first.)
Exactly. *cough* shill *cough*
---------------- Just to endure is a triumph.
Posts: 780 | Location: NYC | Registered: August 24, 2008
Actors and models wanted to start working tomorrow (NYC)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Reply to: job-e6v3w-1134208293@craigslist.org [Errors when replying to ads?] Date: 2009-04-22, 3:37AM EDT
Talent Watchers is a leading NYC extra and commercial agency and we are currently taking on new artistes for various projects that we are currently casting for. In the past 6 months we have had over 500 days work for actors including work with NBC, Showcase, Nike, Adidas, Tide, Johnson&Johnson and the home office!
Today we have various commercial castings. Last month one of our artistes filmed a new Tide commercial earning $3,500 for one day plus extra for rehearsal days.
All shapes, sizes, ethnicities and nationalities are considered. Experience is not necessary. More information can be viewed on our website at www.talentwatchers.com ( JOIN NOW and become a full member – that’s the best way to get exposure and apply for jobs asap). We will also forward your profile in our network. For more details feel free to contact Hillary at hillary@talentwatchers.com is you have any questions about registering.
"I've been with TW for over a year now and had LOTS of contact with Hillary. I've had some great jobs which I've thoroughly enjoyed. Hillary is always there to give advice and support whenever it is needed.. She is always professional, approachable and totally reliable. I LOVE being with the agency” Mary, April 2009
“It was a pleasure to work with Hillary – who is an absolute professional in every way. She was excellent in taking direction in what was a physically demanding scene. Her finely-judged performance had all the vigor and realism I’d hoped for. I would certainly work with Hillary again. Jane, Producer, ITV August 2008 (for a featured role)
With thanks for your interest, Hillary Johnson, Talent Watchers Agency Casting Team
Location: NYC Compensation: $50-$3,500 per day Principals only. Recruiters, please don't contact this job poster. Please, no phone calls about this job! Please do not contact job poster about other services, products or commercial interests.
PostingID: 1134208293
Posts: 453 | Location: New York | Registered: October 27, 2006
1. Calling themselves an agency, but saying you have to JOIN NOW (i.e. pay money) to sign with them. A real agent signs you if they think you have talent, sends you on auditions, and takes 10% when you book a job. You don't pay them anything in advance.
2. Saying they're looking for "artistes for various projects we are casting for." So in addition to claiming to be an agency, they're ALSO claiming to be casting directors!
3. Meanwhile, the shill says they're just like Actors Access! Except that Actors Access is simply a site that lists breakdowns. Actors Access doesn't pretend to be an agency OR a casting director. :P
It's really appalling how sites like that prey on hopefuls who don't know how the business works.
(I just have to say that this cracks me up: "Talent Watchers Agency Casting Team". What the heck does that even MEAN? Agency Casting Team?)
Posts: 431 | Location: New York | Registered: December 29, 2008
Talent wathers is not an agency. Talent Watchers is a talent directory.I joined Talent Watchers and I got a fatured role in a big Hollywood movie. And registration to talentwatchers.com is FREE. Registering for free you can apply for some jobs and your profile will be forwarded to agencies.
Posts: 4 | Location: NYC | Registered: March 27, 2009