Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  New Actors Only    actorcast?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Newbie
Picture of anitabfamous
Posted
Hey so I have been a member of a few casting sites for a while now, actorsaccess, nycastings, castingnetworks....

Is it recommended to add one or both of these to the list: actorcast.com or talentjug.com. Let me know of anyone is a user of either of these two sites and is it helpful?
 
Posts: 11 | Location: NY | Registered: February 20, 2009Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
Hi. There have been numerous discussions on legit sites if you do a search on this forum.

But actorsaccess, lacasting, nycasting, nycastings, nowcasting are the only legit casting websites used by CD's.
 
Posts: 216 | Location: New York City | Registered: January 27, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Al Pacino
Picture of TRUTHTELLER59
Posted Hide Post
TalentJug is a scam! It's another explore talent.

You're with the three legit sites in NY.
 
Posts: 1249 | Location: LA,CA | Registered: May 06, 2009Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
There was a recent audition for Quintiles, a pharma co., for a spot for my dd. She didn't get it, but I googled the company that was casting, impossiblecasting.com, and they have a newsgroup that I was thinking about joining. They list current projects, upcoming projects, cd showcases. It looked like a cool site, and it's free, although it is just for the east coast. Does anyone else know about them? Oh and TalentJug, like a bad rash, can't get rid of them. Actors Club is another bad one. I just keep hitting the "don't allow" button on my e-mail, but they (Actors Club) morph into another e-mail address that leads you back to Actors Club. They never list an "unsubscibe" link either. So rude!
 
Posts: 254 | Location: east coast | Registered: October 16, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
If you sign up for email notices from impossiblecasting, they will email you casting notices they have BEFORE they are listed on actorsaccess. They provide an email address to send your stuff to.

They are a very legitimate CD office in NYC. I have been called in by them numerous times for print, and when I receive an email notice, I email them my headshot/resume back. I highly suggest signing up for their email alerts.
 
Posts: 216 | Location: New York City | Registered: January 27, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
FYI, Impossiblecasting is an actual casting office like House Casting, Tara Rubin Casting, etc. Matt Wolf is the CD at ImpossibleCasting. They are legit, and can be found in Ross Reports (Call Sheet) for NYC. They are not a casting service or scam website like Talentjug, etc.
 
Posts: 216 | Location: New York City | Registered: January 27, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
HEAR THAT EVERYONE ON THE EASTCOAST???!! Amo37 gives it 2 thumbs up. For once I think I stumbled across something legitimate. Yea. They have a place that asks why you want to be part of their newgroup, you give them a good reason, then you get a message that says we'll get back to you. They got back to me, I'm in! So now I am on their e-mail alerts, too. Amo37, do you go to their classes? It looks pretty inexpensive.
 
Posts: 254 | Location: east coast | Registered: October 16, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
Hi. No, I don't go to their classes. Same thing they offer can be found at Actorsconnection, one on one, Network East, etc.

Impossiblecasting, like I said, is an actual casting office. They are just fun and quirky. They will email you casting notices for their office only. Many times I have been called in for print gigs by the CD's. They also do commericals as well. Nice people, nice to get notices before they post on actorsaccess.

Don't feel you have to take a class to be called in. Not true at all. I have never heard anyone there even mention a class. They just post them on their website and also when they email you they mention showcases, but never pressure. Legit place, legit CD's run the place. Look them up if you doubt them In Ross Reports and also Call Sheet and Also on Backstage lists of NYC CD's.
 
Posts: 216 | Location: New York City | Registered: January 27, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
Thank you so much for the info, and I'm sure they are legit.
 
Posts: 254 | Location: east coast | Registered: October 16, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
Picture of Ray and Rita
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by nonstagemom:
Thank you so much for the info, and I'm sure they are legit.


I have been called in to audition for national commercial via Impossible Casting, and I never took a class from them. I got called directly, others came thru agents.
 
Posts: 215 | Location: Silvercup area | Registered: August 30, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
They are completely legit. As I stated, they call me alot. They do lots of print/commericals in NYC.

Join their mailing list. They send you their casting notices before they are posted on actorsaccess.com
 
Posts: 216 | Location: New York City | Registered: January 27, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Johnny Depp
Picture of mad4plaid
Posted Hide Post
Impossible Casting is totally worth it but it's mostly teens and up - I rarely get stuff for my younger kids. I would still subscribe though!
 
Posts: 53 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: May 01, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
  Powered by Eve Community  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  New Actors Only    actorcast?

© 2009 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.