Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  New Actors Only    SCAMS to Watch Out For
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Julia Roberts
Posted
Here's something we can all add to, in hopes of preventing others from getting SCAMMED.

Modeling scam agencies.
http://www.easybackgroundcheck.com

So, want to be in the movies??? Here's one for newbies and unsuspecting extra/background actors to watch out for.
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/2007/07/movie_extra_scam.html


- MIB -
If you can dream, you can do. Making it happen is up to you.
 
Posts: 773 | Location: SoCal | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
thanks!
 
Posts: 8 | Location: NYC | Registered: October 13, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
Posted Hide Post
Thanks for posting this, MIB! Hopefully, it will help some new people from getting scammed.
 
Posts: 297 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
This has been discussed in other threads, but stay away from AGENT MICHAEL AMATO. He tries to scam unsuspecting talent to be in his "book". You have to pay $150 or up for this privilege. The book does not even exist.

A real creep!
 
Posts: 59 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: January 21, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Hey, I'm new to NYC, and this site, but here's another one: The Model Talent Co. on 224 W. 35th St. in NYC. They psoted stuff on craigslist,and when I went to check them out, they were in this tiny, piece of crap office, they wanted $200 up front for some terrible (and I do mean TERRIBLE) black & white headshots (almost NO ONE wants b&w anymore....) and then more money to be in in their database. I said no thanks.... And I will be much more careful on craigslist....
 
Posts: 1 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: December 05, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Hi everyone!

Has anyone seen the ad on Career Builder for extras? It does not give a company name or email address...just a contact name and phone #.

Does anyone know if this is legit? I guess the best way to find out is if they want cash up front?

Thanks!
 
Posts: 1 | Location: TX | Registered: December 06, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
Posted Hide Post
while a few have named specific agencies, all the stories have onething in common--requiring you to pay them a fee. Legitimate agents and managers make their money when you book jobs.

Another scam is steering you to overpriced photos/classes/other services. If they require you to use certain photographers or to take specific classes, instead of giving you a few recommendations, chances are good they are getting a kickback.
 
Posts: 258 | Location: NJ/NY | Registered: December 22, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Julia Roberts
Posted Hide Post
More threads on SCAMS, including info on Explore.

http://bbs.backstage.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/9131061/m/6...?r=21810347#21810347

http://bbs.backstage.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/9611031/m/8...?r=15210487#15210487


- MIB -
If you can dream, you can do. Making it happen is up to you.
 
Posts: 773 | Location: SoCal | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Julia Roberts
Posted Hide Post
WARNING: More to watch for from Explore Talent.

http://bbs.backstage.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/34910243/m/19810319


- MIB -
If you can dream, you can do. Making it happen is up to you.
 
Posts: 773 | Location: SoCal | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Denzel Washington
Posted Hide Post
This is a newer take on a very old scam. It's sorta like "The who's who book of students" that is shown to all the major Universities, and you can pay to get your kid in the book. Then pay just $150 dollars for a copy of your very own.
 
Posts: 282 | Location: Hollywood, CA | Registered: August 10, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Julia Roberts
Posted Hide Post
IMTA with a connection to JRP.

Here is an excellent thread by Jactressk with first-hand behind the scenes information about IMTA.
Thank you Jactressk!

http://bbs.backstage.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/922105/m/810103701


- MIB -
If you can dream, you can do. Making it happen is up to you.
 
Posts: 773 | Location: SoCal | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Julia Roberts
Posted Hide Post
More cross-referencing...
Here's a must-read regarding JRP / John Robert Powers for all beginning actors and/or parents of beginning actors.

http://bbs.backstage.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/9611031/m/902106201


- MIB -
If you can dream, you can do. Making it happen is up to you.
 
Posts: 773 | Location: SoCal | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Hilary Swank
Posted Hide Post
I am just so pleased to see this thread, and everyone helping each other out with all this cross referencing and personal experience. I will tell you that we at Back Stage have attempted to write articles about various reported scam artists, but usually can't print anything because actors don't want to go on record with their complaints. You'll occasionally see Lauren Horwich posting on here, asking for people to email her if they want to talk about this or that agent or manager or service. I just want to encourage you to speak up if you can.


Jackie Apodaca
Senior Columnist
Back Stage
www.backstage.com/workingactor
 
Posts: 525 | Location: Los Angeles, CA | Registered: February 14, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Anyone getting emails from Bently Models regarding shoots in Europe? I smell a scam and a phony cashiers check on the way.

They "found Polina's portfolio" and are offering her a car cover ... yea right... she is 5'5 .. not exactly runway material.

They promise to pay all travel. I quoted them $200 per hour and the guy (or whomever) claims to be sending a $600 retainer overnight tomorrow night.

I am an ecommerce specialist and have a collection of phony checks already, perhaps this will be a new addition.

Anyone else getting mail from this bunch?


Bob Bryant
The Actor's Annex
 
Posts: 6 | Location: Glendale, CA | Registered: March 07, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
OK - No answer here, but I have one ..

If you get contacted by Bentley Models, it's a scam.

Guy sends a check with extra $$, asks you to deposit it and send the difference via WU.

Oldest scam in the book. I made the guy mad since I played him til he sent the fedex.

Another inkjet printed check for my collection.

Be careful out there. People will screw you if they have the opportunity.


Bob Bryant
The Actor's Annex
 
Posts: 6 | Location: Glendale, CA | Registered: March 07, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community Page 1 2 3 4  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  New Actors Only    SCAMS to Watch Out For

© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.