Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Topic...    talent hunter, actor's club
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Kevin Bacon
Posted
Many times when responding to posts on craigslist, the poster is talenthunter.com or actor's club. Are they legit or scams??
 
Posts: 19 | Location: east coast | Registered: August 18, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
Posted Hide Post
You have to be careful of answering ads on Craigs List. For every legitimate one, there are 10 others that are scams. Be especially careful of the ones listed in "talent gigs" --- those are posted for free (as opposed to the 'television and radio" ones that the poster has to pay for)

As for TalentHunter and ActorsClub being scams --- I've never heard of either of them. However, if they're asking you to join their site for a fee, pay to be on their site, take their classes, use their photographer, or a pay a penny for anything, then they are, more than likely, a scam.
 
Posts: 330 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
Many times when responding to posts on craigslist, the poster is talenthunter.com or actor's club. Are they legit or scams??

http://www.Talenthunter.com is free. The site looks legit but was hoping someone had experience with them.
 
Posts: 19 | Location: east coast | Registered: August 18, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
I have an account with talent hunter and have had more success since joining them. I pay a fee but I also pay a fee here at back stage and as long as I get results I am happy.
 
Posts: 1 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: May 03, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
Whatever, JamesJ45. Post a few times more about topics having nothing to to with Talenthunter, and maybe we'll give you some credibility.

I get spam from Talenthunter. They do not include an "unsubscribe" option in their spams, either.
 
Posts: 340 | Location: NYC area | Registered: September 24, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Jack Nicholson
Posted Hide Post
talenthunter is a scam. i know. i had to create a fake profile in order to figure out why i was being spammed. there is NOTHING in my profile, and i get daily emails saying some producer has seen my profile and wants to submit me for something or other, but it only works if i pay. i get these daily. my age, my photo, my location, none are in there, and yet i'm getting daily "you have been requested" or "you have been scouted" emails.

really? how do you know i'm perfect? you know nothing about me at all, can't see me, and i'm perfect?

scam. dont bother.
 
Posts: 153 | Location: New York/China/Asia | Registered: July 15, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Picture of ressydm
Posted Hide Post
It took me a while, but I'm so glad I found this thread. I was just asking this question myself because I thought I was imagining things. Thanks everyone. It's free to join but in order to submit one has to pay. They also spam quite a bit and when you get rid of your information or write them that you want to be removed from their database, they magically send an email from "a casting director" and "claim" someone has viewed your site and wants to know your information but really, they don't smack of legitimacy. Sad, really.
 
Posts: 100 | Location: New York | Registered: October 27, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
Picture of miss stone
Posted Hide Post
I belive that there are really only 4 legit services. In no particular order-
Backstage
Actor's Acess
LA Casting
Now Casting

I have never heard of any others worth a damn except these.
 
Posts: 395 | Location: the universe | Registered: June 04, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
You can check whether actor/model companies are scams at http://www.easybackgroundcheck.com/ -- of course, it doesn't cover every company but it's an incredibly useful site. BTW, it lists exploretalent as questionable.
 
Posts: 2 | Location: http://x.com | Registered: December 02, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Picture of California P.
Posted Hide Post
Lol ! I'm with Transfer they shoot me emails all the time . I'm trying to shut them down but I can't . I think they are a scam too. Don't fully knock CL yet. Like Diane said " For every legitimate one, there are 10 others that are scams".
You have to ask them questions, if you don't get a response, then you know they are full of shit. I always ask simple question when responding for work on CL. Some reply back with the expected answer, and some down. I do that for everyone on CL. Because most of the bad ones are picture collectors on CL. So do be careful. Talenthunter ughhh !!! Stay away !! Actor's club never heard of them. If anyone ever finds how to unsubscribe from Talenthunter please post before I break my laptop. lol !!


"You know your friends when they don't need you".
 
Posts: 165 | Location: NYC | Registered: November 04, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Picture of Matthew Schuck
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by miss stone:
I belive that there are really only 4 legit services. In no particular order-
Backstage
Actor's Acess
LA Casting
Now Casting

I have never heard of any others worth a damn except these.


I concur.

If your in the DC area www.actorscenter.org is good.


I'd rather die than live 1 day knowing that I gave up.
 
Posts: 159 | Location: MD/DC/VA | Registered: June 26, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Off Topic...    talent hunter, actor's club

© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.