Go 
|
New 
|
Find 
|
Notify 
|
|
Reply 
|
|
Admin 
|
New PM! 
|
Julia Roberts
|
You have to be careful of answering ads on Craigs List. For every legitimate one, there are 10 others that are scams. Be especially careful of the ones listed in "talent gigs" --- those are posted for free (as opposed to the 'television and radio" ones that the poster has to pay for)
As for TalentHunter and ActorsClub being scams --- I've never heard of either of them. However, if they're asking you to join their site for a fee, pay to be on their site, take their classes, use their photographer, or a pay a penny for anything, then they are, more than likely, a scam.
|
| |
| Posts: 302 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005 |    |
|
Sean Penn
|
Many times when responding to posts on craigslist, the poster is talenthunter.com or actor's club. Are they legit or scams?? http://www.Talenthunter.com is free. The site looks legit but was hoping someone had experience with them.
|
| |
| Posts: 95 | Location: east coast | Registered: August 18, 2007 |    |
|
Glenn Close
|
talenthunter is a scam. i know. i had to create a fake profile in order to figure out why i was being spammed. there is NOTHING in my profile, and i get daily emails saying some producer has seen my profile and wants to submit me for something or other, but it only works if i pay. i get these daily. my age, my photo, my location, none are in there, and yet i'm getting daily "you have been requested" or "you have been scouted" emails.
really? how do you know i'm perfect? you know nothing about me at all, can't see me, and i'm perfect?
scam. dont bother.
|
| |
| Posts: 252 | Location: Los Angeles, Baby! | Registered: July 15, 2005 |    |
|
Newbie
|
You can check whether actor/model companies are scams at http://www.easybackgroundcheck.com/ -- of course, it doesn't cover every company but it's an incredibly useful site. BTW, it lists exploretalent as questionable.
|
| |
| Posts: 12 | Location: nyc | Registered: December 02, 2007 |    |
|
Hilary Swank

|
Lol ! I'm with Transfer they shoot me emails all the time . I'm trying to shut them down but I can't . I think they are a scam too. Don't fully knock CL yet. Like Diane said " For every legitimate one, there are 10 others that are scams". You have to ask them questions, if you don't get a response, then you know they are full of shit. I always ask simple question when responding for work on CL. Some reply back with the expected answer, and some down. I do that for everyone on CL. Because most of the bad ones are picture collectors on CL. So do be careful. Talenthunter ughhh !!! Stay away !! Actor's club never heard of them. If anyone ever finds how to unsubscribe from Talenthunter please post before I break my laptop. lol !!
"Some people dream of success... While others wake up and work hard at it"
|
| |
| Posts: 529 | Location: NYC | Registered: November 04, 2007 |    |
|
Russell Crowe

|
quote: Originally posted by miss stone: I belive that there are really only 4 legit services. In no particular order- Backstage Actor's Acess LA Casting Now Casting
I have never heard of any others worth a damn except these.
I concur. If your in the DC area www.actorscenter.org is good.
|
| |
| Posts: 263 | Location: MD/DC/VA | Registered: June 26, 2008 |    |
|
Julia Roberts

|
Yes I am with all four as they all serve a different purpose. For instance, NowCasting has episodic tv quite often and it includes four photos and a demo reel which you can switch and change as often as you like at no extra charge- CLASSY), Backstage has actually netted me quite a few auditions and I was offered to decent gigs from those auditions (one paid and one a deferred pay pilot) plus they have Las Vegas auditions and I spend a lot of time there as I have a house there), Actors Access I have the least success with BUT the auditions I have gotten through them have been for paid gigs i.e. low budget films etc and if I got just ONE it would be worth the $68 which is so cheap. LaCasting I receieved a LOT of student films through so you see, if I have success with them I feel they are worth sticking with even though yes, you do see multiple ads sometimes using all four. But some people ONLY cast through one or two and who wants to miss out? I myself cast my own projects occassionally and will not use Lacasting for that purpose as I find the guy in charge down there and most of the staff very unpersonable and difficult to deal with. Yet I keep my account there as you never know, right? And besides, right now I have myself plastered ALL over the internet so that it's at the point that if anyone just Google's my name, I pop up on about 6-8 different links to online pages feauturing me- i.e. IMDB, Actors Access and even a celeb blog site!! So hey, it's working right? LOVE that exposure!!!  Sign up withh all four- SO worth it in my opinion.
|
| |
| Posts: 2395 | Location: the universe | Registered: June 04, 2007 |    |
|
Newbie

|
quote: Originally posted by celebrium: *sigh* I wish I would've found this site sooner. Unfortunately, I've joined the Actor's Club, but of course! there aren't going to be any auditon listings in my area, but at least now i know not to worry about signing up with talent hunter. I'm only glad that I read these posts before hand cause I was actually ready ta fork over some dollars lol. Anywho, thx.
Yea same here I was about to pay some money to Talent hunter so I can reply to msg I get on there. But my intuition was telling me NO DON’T DO IT IDIOT!!! And then a friend of my send a link to this forum page.. and im happy he did… Good luck to all. www.alexsolodov.com
|
| |
| Posts: 1 | Location: Des Moines, Iowa | Registered: February 11, 2009 |    |
|
Newbie
|
I've been an actress for 15+ years and although I knew better (bangs head on desk) I signed up with Talent Hunter because I thought it would open up more work for me in the Los Angeles area. I now know better. My subscription is for 12 months and the credit card I originally used is gone so there's no way they'll get any more $$ from me. Here's what I've learned: They post casting calls that are OLD. I got a reply from a producer who said his project was already in post production! They also give you directions for submission that are guaranteed to get your headshot / resume envelope tossed into the trash before it's even opened. I learned this after sending out dozens of them. I've learned to read the casting calls and Google the name of the producer / casting agent. Once I find their web site I read their submission rules. At this point I'm acting as my own agent, which is fine. I like being in control of my future that way. Who are these people that post testimonials of success? None of them have professional headshots. Many of them put "prefer not to say" for body type, weight, height. Give me a BREAK! They may be making connections with other hopeful's and maybe getting some work through other networking skills they develop but to say Talent Hunter got them any work is a stretch. I'll continue to submit my information after researching the agents / directors / casting agencies and in that one thing Talent Hunter has been ok. I could have spent a lot less on a book that has all the information (bangs head on desk again). Thankfully it's all a tax write-off and I need those this year. Oh and one more thing; all the producers, casting agents, etc who looked at my free profile and wanted to talk to me about their project MAGICALLY disappeared as soon as I paid for the subscription. You may be able to look me up in there. I'm Mellisa there too.  tell me you like my profile and think I fit the look you're going for in your next big budget film 
|
| |
| Posts: 1 | Location: San Luis Obispo | Registered: March 16, 2009 |    |
|
 | Please Wait. Your request is being processed... |
© 2009 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.
|