Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  The Working Actor    ExploreTalent.com?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Johnny Depp
Posted
This is a national casting website. I was about to submit for a project, but for the amount of personal information I am providing I would like to know if they are legit and if they have been known to cast jobs. If anyone knows about this site or would be willing to take a quick look, I would greatly appreciate it!!
http://www.exploretalent.com
 
Posts: 83 | Location: ARIZONA | Registered: February 17, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
 
Posts: 17 | Location: NYC | Registered: October 21, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Johnny Depp
Posted Hide Post
HOLY COW! Thanks!! Glad I didn't enter anything.
 
Posts: 83 | Location: ARIZONA | Registered: February 17, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
Noooooo! A total ripoff.
 
Posts: 375 | Location: nyc | Registered: January 02, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
I actually use them and I would say not worth the money but not horrible depending on what your looking for. I have gotten alot of stuff for student films and short films and stuff like that.

As far as paid stuff, theres not much of it but I have gotten some promotional work from it which basically paid for it.
 
Posts: 38 | Location: New York | Registered: December 02, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
You can submitt online for student films and others TOTALLY free on mandy.com or for a small fee on nycastings.com. we have gotten quite a few auds for films thru those two sites. DO NOT use explore talent
 
Posts: 329 | Location: new jersey | Registered: January 26, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Yes, Explore Talent is a legitimate casting audition website. My daughter has been with them for about 1 month. She got her first audition for a theatre play at the University of Riverside. She will be going to her 2nd call back audition this coming weekend. This is a great site to search for casting notices and auditions. They also allow you to set-up your profile and resume. I would say they are very similar to BackStage.com. Before I registered with Explore Talent, I contacted the acting (OC John Casablaca Modeling & Acting Center)school my daughter attends to verify if they're a legit company. Their website address is www.ocjcstudis.com
 
Posts: 2 | Location: Corona, CA | Registered: March 06, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
Most of the castings on Explore Talent are either expired or no pay. Many are for community theaters and can be found elsewhere on the net for free. And if John Casablancas is touting it, that's reason enough to run for the hills. Tney, along with JRP are the two biggest scam "schools" going, IMHO.
 
Posts: 246 | Location: CT | Registered: April 06, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Before I registered with Explore Talent, I contacted the acting (OC John Casablaca Modeling & Acting Center)school my daughter attends to verify if they're a legit company. Their website address is www.ocjcstudis.com


*can open, worms crawl out*


CSilvera, GO!
 
Posts: 322 | Location: NYC area | Registered: September 24, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Harrison Ford
Posted Hide Post
mwahahahahahah transfer girl!
 
Posts: 636 | Location: New York | Registered: May 25, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Johnny Depp
Posted Hide Post
I've used this site and found some auditions on it that are also in Backstage. However, they never provide all of the information, even though we are members. They'll give you the time and not the place, for example. It's pretty frustrating.


______________________
"What other life is there than that of an actor?" -Cary Grant

"Acting has always been a dream of mine, and I have to pursue it while I can." -Keira Knightley
 
Posts: 81 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: April 22, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Do what I did if you have some doubts, go to the better business bureaur website and see if any formal complaints have been made. I did that for these guys and another one that won't stop sending me e-mails and found most of their complaints are about payments. They got a pretty low rating so I'd avoid them if I were you.
 
Posts: 2 | Location: sherman oaks | Registered: March 10, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
THANK YOU This I why I love this site. Twice I've been saved from blowing money on bad list sites.
Explore Talent and GOGIFTS.
Cant wait for Ron RICHARDS to C/B and try to sell me. hahahahahah I plan on screwing with him for a while as I did Sarah from GoGifts.
 
Posts: 20 | Location: NYC, NY | Registered: May 01, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Nicholas Cage
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by dramamama:
Most of the castings on Explore Talent are either expired or no pay. Many are for community theaters and can be found elsewhere on the net for free. And if John Casablancas is touting it, that's reason enough to run for the hills. Tney, along with JRP are the two biggest scam "schools" going, IMHO.


Well, I have reservations about your opinion about JRP...since I work at one, but I do agree that explore talent is a waste of time and money. I've seen people drop a lot of money with explore talent, and they haven't gotten anything out of it. There are plenty of free sites that offer the same thing.
 
Posts: 451 | Location: Homesick | Registered: October 18, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
I wouldn't use ExploreTalent.com especially if J. Casablanca recommends it. JCB is a well known scam artist.
 
Posts: 79 | Location: Miami and New York | Registered: January 06, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community Page 1 2  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  The Working Actor    ExploreTalent.com?

© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.