Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  The Working Actor    hollywoodprofiles.com SCAM?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Newbie
Posted
has anyone heard of "hollywoodprofiles.com"? is it a good place to find work or is it a scam. they charge around 150.00 per year to have access to their site.
 
Posts: 1 | Location: texas | Registered: May 20, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
Well, look at it. All of their postings are for unpaid crap. There isn't a SAG signatory project anywhere in their "nationwide database." So even if it is "legitimate" it won't do you any good. The junk on there can probably be found on craigslist.

If you are from Texas-there's not much work in Texas-some indie stuff and a few features in Austin, plus some commercials. A little bit in Dallas. But you won't find any of the good paying stuff on that site.
 
Posts: 157 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: January 15, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Hilary Swank
Posted Hide Post
The simplest attitude to have towards any casting site that requires payment is... negative. Unless and until people you know with NO relation to the site start telling you they got work through it. And even then.

Most serious casting directors not only aren't putting out notices where any one who can pay the fee can see them, they're going to some effort to keep casting notices in a closed circuit of professionals. So, absent strong evidence to the contrary, you'd do best to avoid ALL sites that claim they can give you access to casting notices (beyond of course simple classified listings such as one finds in BackstageWest.)

And personally I don't think you should ever have to pay anything like $150 for any such site.


Jim Chevallier
http://www.chezjim.com
now presenting the Monologue of the Week
 
Posts: 361 | Location: North Hollywood, CA | Registered: July 18, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
It is a scam I also got scammed out of $49.95 by hollywoodprofiles.com so I created a blog to help people get their money back and to shut down these scammers. Here is the link: Hollywood Profiles Scam Exposed Get Your Money Back
 
Posts: 1 | Location: USA | Registered: July 11, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
We've gotten several letters at The Working Actor complaining about this company. At this point, I think it's safe to say it's a scam.


Michael Kostroff
Back Stage Columnist
www.backstage.com/workingactor
Author of "Letters from Backstage"
 
Posts: 184 | Location: Currently in New York | Registered: June 24, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Ive been a member of their site now for two months and while i havent landed any major speaking roles, i have been able to get two paid movie extra jobs. It seems like there has been some people that have been disatisfied with their service but as far as my experience it has been pretty good. I know that i probably wont make it to be a major star one day, but to me HollywoodProfile.com seems like a good place to get your foot in the door.
 
Posts: 1 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: July 16, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by alex marrick:
Ive been a member of their site now for two months and while i havent landed any major speaking roles, i have been able to get two paid movie extra jobs. It seems like there has been some people that have been disatisfied with their service but as far as my experience it has been pretty good. I know that i probably wont make it to be a major star one day, but to me HollywoodProfile.com seems like a good place to get your foot in the door.


Um, HELLO! I know you are probably the owner of this fake company but your "claims" are just laughable. Even if your claim that you got two "paid movie extra jobs" is true-what would they pay-minimum wage at best? And you've paid fifty bucks and probably more for membership fees. Not worth it-you can pay far less to legitimate companies and work far more than than two times in two months. So, if you are telling the truth here-let me tell you you can do far better than that by signing up with legitimate companies/sites like extrasaccess, central casting, jeff olan, etc. It is not a "good place to get your foot in the door."

How does this "company" get you work exactly? Do they have relationships with casting companies? No, it appears they steal casting notices from legitimate sites and post them as their own. So I really don't see how anyone could get work from them.

Extras Certification program?(Any moron can be an extra; no "certification" is required)
US Casting Society?(A completely made-up organization)

Sorry, but this operation is scam city. Anyone with any remote knowledge of this industry could tell you this.
 
Posts: 157 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: January 15, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  The Working Actor    hollywoodprofiles.com SCAM?

© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.