Go 
|
New 
|
Find 
|
Notify 
|
|
Reply 
|
|
Admin 
|
New PM! 
|
Johnny Depp
|
quote: Originally posted by La_SoL82: They recently posted a Target Holiday campaign and asked to respond at submit@newfacesnow.com.
Yeah, I THOUGHT that had to be them, when I saw that ad on Craigslist! Damn, I'm good! quote: The following day, rep Jackie said she was going to submit my photos for the ad, and will continue to send my h/r out if i send a hardcopies to them. They have a PO BOX address. I can't trust that, compare to NY Castings. At least they have an actual street address; and it's $10 a month whereas Go See Gifts charges $20! I cant even find their address in their website.
Well, YEAH! NYCastings.com is at least a legitimate website, and I have known actors who have obtained legitimate paid work from submitting on there, though most of the work they did get was background/extra work. quote: Jackie sounded like a script, sad it was too good to be true.
Same story here! The girl I talked to read that "script" with less convincing effort than Jessica Simpson on a ProActiv infomercial. quote: But Jackie made a good point though, you cant "make it in the business" searching for casting notices on Craigslist, but GoSee Gifts can "once in a while."
Not quite sure what that means. ??!? quote: I'm following my instincts to stay away from GoSee, at least offer us a free trial if you're legit.
Right on! Once you pay them that $19.95 for that daily "casting newsletter," they've got all the financial commitment in the world that they want from you. Not only that, their little "newsletter" thing is basically a bootleg cut/paste version of information from breakdownexpress.com, which all the actors in New York get illegally, anyway!
It's all tricks of lighting and shadows...
|
| |
| Posts: 35 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: May 04, 2007 |    |
|
Johnny Depp
|
quote: Originally posted by John_T: I also applied to the "target" ad and althought Sarah was not "availble" I spoke with her intern Jackie, who sounded as if she was on an infomercial.
Yeah, the same thing happened to me!!! The girl on the phone told me in that infomercial tone of voice, "the jeans campaign has already been cast, but we really like your look." HMMM... As the saying goes, flattery will get you NOWHERE!!!Side note, if any "agent" tells you they "really like your look," beware!!! It's the oldest trick in the book! quote: I wanted some feedback on this place and wow, I am really glad I did not sign up. Not that I really would have anyway, but this sealed it. I am interested if Target knows they are using them to sign people up?
Well, the New York Models Mart Black Book lists the direct contact information for the catalog print advertising director for the Target stores. You can always call that person directly at the number listed, and ask them specifically if they have ever worked with www.goseegifts.com. And that's the most direct source at Target!
It's all tricks of lighting and shadows...
|
| |
| Posts: 35 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: May 04, 2007 |    |
|
Johnny Depp
|
quote: Originally posted by DanielleD: Yup, I just got the 610 number calling me (Jackie actually), googled message boards for it, to check if it was a scam... Thanks Guys, I'll politely tell them I'm not interested, and they will surely continue to annoy me.
Yes, they will continue to annoy you, I got e-mailed constantly after I didn't fall for it. But no, you don't have to be polite about it.
It's all tricks of lighting and shadows...
|
| |
| Posts: 35 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: May 04, 2007 |    |
|
Newbie
|
Yeah, I registered with them. I figured, if it as a scam, I'm only losing like $20 opposed to hundreds of dollars. I mean, the only thing I can say, is that they send me casting notices daily, and at least I know they are real, because I found the same casting notices in Backstage, Show Business, etc. So at least I know these castings are real, and I'm paying pretty much the same, or less with Go See GIFTS. But I figured, I feel more comfortable buying or subscribing to Backstage anyways if I'm going to be receiving the same casting/breakdown info from Backstage, so yesterday, I emailed them telling them I'd like to unsubscribe. Just to be on the safe side, I'll also cancel my checking account, and open a new one. They didn't do much for me but send me castings, so I don't feel as hurt.
"Losing your heart's desire is tragic, but gaining your heart's desire. . .it's all you can hope for. This year, I wished for love. . .to immerse myself in someone else and wake a heart long afraid to feel. My wish was granted. And if having that is tragic, then give me tragedy. Because I wouldn't give it back for the world." - P. Sawyer
|
| |
| Posts: 13 | Location: Brooklyn, NY | Registered: January 23, 2008 |    |
|
Johnny Depp
|
quote: Originally posted by God's Favorite: Yeah, I registered with them. I figured, if it as a scam, I'm only losing like $20 opposed to hundreds of dollars. I mean, the only thing I can say, is that they send me casting notices daily, and at least I know they are real, because I found the same casting notices in Backstage, Show Business, etc. So at least I know these castings are real, and I'm paying pretty much the same, or less with Go See GIFTS. But I figured, I feel more comfortable buying or subscribing to Backstage anyways if I'm going to be receiving the same casting/breakdown info from Backstage, so yesterday, I emailed them telling them I'd like to unsubscribe. Just to be on the safe side, I'll also cancel my checking account, and open a new one. They didn't do much for me but send me castings, so I don't feel as hurt.
Yeah, once some of these "organizations" have your checking account or credit card number, there's no telling what tricks and schemes they're going to pull. One question here, from what source do Go See GIFTS actually get their "casting notices" from??!? Hmmm.....
It's all tricks of lighting and shadows...
|
| |
| Posts: 35 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: May 04, 2007 |    |
|
Newbie
|
quote: Originally posted by nycactorpw: Ahh. I sent my headshot/resume to a casting for an urban clothesline awhile ago to an email like casting@goseegifts.com. The next week they called me saying they liked my look and told me about purchasing the castings! I didn't go through with it. I'm glad I didn't. A Scam for sure! & They didn't even tell me about the clothes ad!
Yeah, I signed up for the same thing I believe. Is that the same shoot that's suppose to be in MIAMI around Memorial Day? RE: Awesome_Talent; I'm pretty sure they probably get it from BACKSTAGE, SHOW BUSINESS or some intern/assistant to a CD. Because you can tell that it's been copied and pasted. But yeah, I unsubscribed from them, and I got emails back stating that they have stop recurring billing. Before they got my email, they were trying to take money out for the upcoming month (because it was about that time), but luckily I took all of my money out of my account, so they weren't able to take anything out, and sent me an email about it. So all in all, I won't owe them anything.
"Losing your heart's desire is tragic, but gaining your heart's desire. . .it's all you can hope for. This year, I wished for love. . .to immerse myself in someone else and wake a heart long afraid to feel. My wish was granted. And if having that is tragic, then give me tragedy. Because I wouldn't give it back for the world." - P. Sawyer
|
| |
| Posts: 13 | Location: Brooklyn, NY | Registered: January 23, 2008 |    |
|
Johnny Depp
|
Well, I guess they get some of their "casting information" from Backstage and who knows where else. I'm telling you, that "jeans campaign" they advertised on Craigslist didn't even exist in the first place!
It's all tricks of lighting and shadows...
|
| |
| Posts: 35 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: May 04, 2007 |    |
|
 | Please Wait. Your request is being processed... |
© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.
|