Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Secret Agent Man    8th Wonder Model & Talent-NYC
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Newbie
Posted
Has anyone heard of/worked with 8th Wonder Model & Talent? They have an ad in Backstage East this week, and are hosting some sort of showcase to find new talent. I googled them but nothing comes up, which worries me, I visited their website but relatively nothing useful is posted (www.8thwondermodelandtalent.com)
Any knowledge or experience with them would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
 
Posts: 1 | Location: NYC | Registered: March 29, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Harrison Ford
Posted Hide Post
From their website they are not an agency--they are selling you photography and other services, not actually getting you jobs as an agency would.
 
Posts: 529 | Location: New York | Registered: May 25, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Hi,

I have worked with 8th Wonder Model & Talent Agency before. I actually started working with them in Canada and now they have branched out to New York. I would definetly recommend them.

Christine M.
 
Posts: 1 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: April 10, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
cmora-
in order to work for 8th wonder,was a fee involved prior to your first booking?
Ben
 
Posts: 77 | Location: NYC | Registered: March 24, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Hi,

My child currently works with 8th wonder model & talent in Canada.Now that they have a branch here as well, he will be working for the one here too. They are very legit!!! There are no hidden fees. They get their percentage, that's it.

However, I don't know how many of you are new to this so you would need to know that you are responsible for photoshoots and training, which is standard.

They are also very involved with the people they represent. They are just as excited and eager for you as you are for yourself. They do everything they can to help you get that job.

Great girls!!!
 
Posts: 1 | Location: NY, NY | Registered: April 30, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
To all that it might help...I currently work with them and I am represented by 8thWonder In New York City. Im new to the acting business and they took me with no questions. Lisa..the agent in New York is great to work with. She is there 110% to help you succeed. They offer classes exclusively for there clients. There wass no upfront cost or anything. They did ask me to print up 100 headshot which is normal. The place they sent me to was 100 for $100 which is excellent in my eyes. They are going to keep 40 of them and ill keep the other 60 for personal handouts. Any questions please ask


You Only Get As Far As You Can By Going As Far As You Will.
 
Posts: 4 | Location: Queens, Ny | Registered: August 10, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by HandSomeRob:
I currently work with them and I am represented by 8thWonder


Welcome to the BB, I see that this is your first msg ever posted here.

As part of your job with the Wonder, do you google the net to find mentions of the company?

ADDENDUM:
I just checked all the newbie profiles in this thread, AND the only msg any of them EVER posted was to praise this company.

Are they all from the same IP address? Maybe Tomster can check.
 
Posts: 156 | Location: Silvercup area | Registered: August 30, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
I didnt do any reviewing of the company because I was refered by a good friend of mine who does producing. He worked on a project with Lisa the Agent in New York. They are a small agency, have about 15 people in Ny and 15 in Canada. In my eyes thats the best because they help out each client to the best of there abilty compared to larger agencies that have hundreds of clients


You Only Get As Far As You Can By Going As Far As You Will.
 
Posts: 4 | Location: Queens, Ny | Registered: August 10, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by HandSomeRob:
I didnt do any reviewing of the company because I was refered by a good friend of mine who does producing. He worked on a project with Lisa the Agent in New York. They are a small agency, have about 15 people in Ny and 15 in Canada. In my eyes thats the best because they help out each client to the best of there abilty compared to larger agencies that have hundreds of clients


How can they stay in business with so few clients at 10%? They are not repping stars getting millions/yearly or we would have heard of them before.

Where do they make their money??
 
Posts: 156 | Location: Silvercup area | Registered: August 30, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
Posted Hide Post
Does anyone else find it verrry conveeeenient that the only people who are praising this place "just happened" to register and post about this place on the same day and they only have 1 or 2 posts and only pertaining to 8th Wonder??

I would be careful in dealing with them. I checked out their site and they offer "training" and "photographer's services". That is NOT something that agents or managers offer. I see they have their 'models' pictures available on their site --- I wonder how much they charge for this?

To the people who are "repped" by 8th Wonder: Can you fill us in on all the fees they charge?

Thanks!
 
Posts: 297 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by HandSomeRob:
They are a small agency, have about 15 people in Ny and 15 in Canada.


If they only have a total of 30 clients, they're not going to be in business very long --- unless, that is, they're charging their clients to be on the site, take classes, use their photographer, etc. And, if they're not charging their clients all sorts of fees, the ONLY way they'd be making money would be if their clients are working every single day on big campaigns and making good money. If that's the case then, surely, we would have heard of them before.
 
Posts: 297 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Where are you guys getting they have 30 people? They dont show everyone thats work for them on their website. I am one of there clients and Im not on there site. There office isnt big also so there overhead isnt that high. All I can say is they are always there for you. Everytime I had a problem they were there answering their phones and emails. I dont know what else you guys need to know. Call the agent if you have questions.


You Only Get As Far As You Can By Going As Far As You Will.
 
Posts: 4 | Location: Queens, Ny | Registered: August 10, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
they do offer classes but are NOT REQUIRED. They just offer them for a cheaper cost for clients. Its 100 bucks for a 1 month class. As far as photographers, they can reccomend one but they dont make you use one of theirs. Same with printers they told me one to go to because I didnt know one but they are fixing up 2 photos and printing me 50 of each for a total of $100 bucks and takes a few days to get it back...
-ROb


You Only Get As Far As You Can By Going As Far As You Will.
 
Posts: 4 | Location: Queens, Ny | Registered: August 10, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
holly cow!!!! DON'T DO IT!!! I was signed with 8th wonder in NY and it was aweful!! Lisa....the person some of you people have been praising.....made a hate comment about my husband serving in Iraq and when I stood up for him, she hit me!!! You bet your butt I hit her back!! DO NOT SIGN WITH THIS AGENCY!!!! I also had two friends that were signed with her that left about a month after I did. You have no privacy with this agency and Lisa will dick you over every chance she gets!
 
Posts: 1 | Location: georgia | Registered: April 28, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
holly cow!!!! DON'T DO IT!!! I was signed with 8th wonder in NY and it was aweful!! Lisa....the person some of you people have been praising.....made a hate comment about my husband serving in Iraq and when I stood up for him, she hit me!!! You bet your butt I hit her back!! DO NOT SIGN WITH THIS AGENCY!!!! I also had two friends that were signed with her that left about a month after I did. You have no privacy with this agency and Lisa will dick you over every chance she gets!

Re: Yeah, I unfortunately was the friend who left. I worked accross the hall from her as well as being represented by her. She is too personal with her clients, and because I am gay only thought I was capable of doing gay roles. Aren't many actors gay? She is unprofessional and cost me my job at the place accross from her office. I would never recommend her to my worst enemy, she is a joke.
 
Posts: 1 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: August 13, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community Page 1 2  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Secret Agent Man    8th Wonder Model & Talent-NYC

© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.