Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Secret Agent Man    Charlie's Talent Agency
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Kevin Bacon
Posted
Has anyone ever heard of this agency or have any info on them? www.charliestalentagency.com. They say they take 10% for union actors and 20% for non and no other fees ever. Any info would be a huge help.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: kcb5150,
 
Posts: 15 | Location: NYC | Registered: September 16, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
If you are in the Chicago area try out other agencies. Like...FORD MODELS/ARIA TALENT..LILY'S TALENT...STEWART TALENT....GROOSMANJACK TALENT...IRAS TALENT.
 
Posts: 2 | Location: CHICAGO, IL | Registered: December 31, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
Have you heard any horror stories though? They offered to send me out for stuff here in NYC and I figure if they are relatively kosher, it is no harm no foul to let them give it a try.
 
Posts: 15 | Location: NYC | Registered: September 16, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
NO TRY SOME OTHERS...I HAVE HEARD THEY DONT SEEN PEOPLE OFF TO CASTINGS AND STUF...
 
Posts: 2 | Location: CHICAGO, IL | Registered: December 31, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
kcb5150,

Did you make any decisions about Charlie's Talent Agency? They approached me with the same scenario here in Los Angeles.

Thanks!

SGKM
 
Posts: 1 | Location: Los Angeles, CA | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
What is so bad about Charlie's? I know they aren't the best, but is there something wrong with them? Scam? I'm supposed to meet with them next week. Thanks!
 
Posts: 2 | Location: Chicago/Atlanta | Registered: April 17, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
Well, go visit and see what the story is/report here.
 
Posts: 15 | Location: NYC | Registered: September 16, 2006Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
I went to meet with them yesterday (the one in Chicago) and they offered to sign me on the spot (no monologue or cold read or anything) which I thought was kind of weird. But then I told them I currently already have representation and they got mad and started questioning my motives for seeking representation with them. They then said that they don't allow multilisting (even though most most agencies in Chicago allow it).
 
Posts: 2 | Location: Chicago/Atlanta | Registered: April 17, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Reply

I'm a mother with a daughter being represtented by Charlie's Talent for the past 2 yrs. I know since they are a smaller agency they are going more over on the exclusive side. Thats why they gave you the thrid degree on multilisting. I've been with Baker and Rowley and other agencies and they represent 1000's of people and my daughter never even got a call. Over at Charlies she gets calls all the time. I don't know how others feel.. but, so far we have had a great experience with Charlies...
 
Posts: 1 | Location: chicago | Registered: May 11, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
My daughter has been with Charlie's for 1 1/2 years and they have did much more than any other agency has done to get her auditions. They don't like signing talent that is multi-listed because the other agencies use the same submission system and talent will be getting double submitted all the time and I believe would hurt the talent more than help them of being submitted by several different agencies. I feel it is very respectful and courteous of Charlie's Talent to turn away talent that is multi-listed. If you have an agent, you should stick with them, keep a good relationship, give them a call occasionally, and show them you are eager to work.

They are a legit SAG agency, they don't charge money or fees, and will even take headshots for you for FREE for their talent if you take the time to go visit them.

They keep the talent base small to help talent get more auditions and not submit 20 people for each role like most agencies. They represent talent in all major cities including us in Michigan and they will do their best for you to get you auditions.

Hope this helps you all understand them better and good luck to all of you in your success!


Curt
 
Posts: 1 | Location: Michigan | Registered: March 13, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Kevin Bacon
Posted Hide Post
Curt....are you in western Michigan? Is that why you went with someome from Chicago?

I have been trying to figure out what to do next for my DD and we are in southeastern Michigan. She does a lot of community theatre. I have been thinking about looking into Chicago, it sounds like you have had a good experience so far.
 
Posts: 26 | Location: Midwest | Registered: April 11, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
I don't know how much stock I would put into Curt's post. It appears to be more of an advertisement than a testimonial considering he works for Charlie's. If you respond to their craigslist post, he is the one who contacts you. I'm not saying that it is necessarily a scam, but his opinion is definintely going to be skewed in their favor. Just thought you should know.

The Truth
 
Posts: 1 | Location: Detroit | Registered: May 15, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Johnny Depp
Posted Hide Post
i dont think ive ever heard of a reputable agency posting on Craigslist... that seems like a red flag to me.
unless they're very very new perhaps?
 
Posts: 90 | Location: NYC | Registered: May 14, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Posted Hide Post
Well hello everyone.....I'm Chad Oliver, President of Charlie's Talent Agency

I came across this message board and I have to say I'm disappointed since I can see NONE of you did any research on the agency before you made any comments. We have been around for many years and All of you need to understand that becoming a SAG agency is not easy and the first place you should always look at or call is the SAG Office for respectable agencies. There are major rules and regulations a SAG agency needs to follow and SCAMS are not one of them. Now..to clarify to all on this message board we are a very respectable talent agency. We are SAG franchised in Chicago and Michigan and do work in LA, NY, TX and Florida. We have 3 separate departments which includes: Actors, Promotional and Fashion. We gear more on the exclusive side with our clients since we want quality..not quantity. As an agency in Chicago we get 98% of the same projects as everyone else and we work with all the same casting agencies, production, advertising agencies, etc. We are different because we do not want our clients to have competition within their own agency like other who represent 1000's and are competing against others within that agency. We give personal attention to each and every client working on EVERY detail, script, etc to make sure our clients are fully prepared for every audition. We do all of this because not only does it show professionalism from our client but also represents us as the agency. I usually do not have clients cold read because if you have the drive to be in this industry I am the first to give you that chance. Understand All the proof in an actor is going to the audition and booking the job because nobody knows exactly what they are looking for. If anyone takes the time..calls in and asks the questions you would have a better understanding and not make comments made on this message board. Also to clarify Curt..We have been representing his daughter for almost 2 yrs and because of the success she has been listed multiple times in the Detroit paper. Curt is our new sub-agent in Michigan which we are now 1 of 3 SAG franchised agencies listed (look at the Michigan Film office website). By the way..over 90 films are registered to film there in the next 5 years. ANY posting on craigslist is for our promo department, extra's or fashion.
I think all of you should do your proper research before making comments. I have worked very hard for what we have and I have aways been there for all of my clients..

Hope this clarifies and helps anyone on this message board.
 
Posts: 1 | Location: Chicago | Registered: May 23, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Secret Agent Man    Charlie's Talent Agency

© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.