Welcome to the
BACK STAGE MESSAGE BOARD

Please register and login to post.
BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Directing and Acting    Is this a scam for money???
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
-star Rating Rate It!  Login/Join 
Newbie
Posted
Is hollywoodprofiles.com a scam? It says it is approved by The US Casting Society. I tried to email them but my email bounced back.

So are they legit or not?
 
Posts: 11 | Location: New York | Registered: April 18, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Anthony Hopkins
Posted Hide Post
I just looked at their site. Looks like the typical scam operation. If you're looking for casting calls, go to NY Castings.com, ActorsAcces.com, Extras Access.com, Backstage, Show Business Weekly, etc.... .There are plenty of legitimate places to find castings calls.

Also, on NY Castings and Actors Access you can upload your headshot/resume for submitting.
 
Posts: 305 | Location: NYC | Registered: July 13, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Russell Crowe
Posted Hide Post
Oh lordy...

First off, there is no such thing as "The US Casting Society." It is an entirely made-up organization. It's faux purpose is to give this scam a fake credibility. Perhaps they hope some will confuse it with "The Casting Society of America(CSA)." At any rate, the CSA is not in the business of rating scam casting sites, or even legit ones.

At any rate, all of the projects are crap anyway. Stuff you could find on craigslist. If you did a search you would not find a single project with a SAG contract. Just a whole lot of junk, mostly unpaid and sketchy.
 
Posts: 208 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: January 15, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sean Penn
Posted Hide Post
quote:
I tried to email them but my email bounced back.

So are they legit or not?


They aren't even good as crooks!
 
Posts: 103 | Location: Studio City | Registered: April 20, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Denzel Washington
Picture of Darbi, Everything Acting Podcast
Posted Hide Post
I don't know that it's a scam, but the jobs don't seem very high quality. Has anyone else tries them?
 
Posts: 186 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: January 15, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Roz
Nicholas Cage
Picture of Roz
Posted Hide Post
There's another site for actors with Hollywood in the name that has porn stuff. So that influenced my first reaction when I read this. Looking around the site I would give it a solid c+. So it really depends on where you are in your journey as to how much these jobs and this investment would serve you.

Keep us posted on what you decide and your experiences.
 
Posts: 129 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: January 23, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Newbie
Picture of Mr.Redcarpet
Posted Hide Post
www.nycastings.com
www.nycasting.com
www.actorsaccess.com
www.backstage.com
www.nowcasting.com

i recommend nycastings, actorsaccess, and now casting they will get the most for your money


"You know it's all right to be wrong, but it's not all right not to try." - Sanford Meisner
 
Posts: 11 | Location: 302 | Registered: April 24, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Roz
Nicholas Cage
Picture of Roz
Posted Hide Post
I gotta say. I agree with mr. redcarpet. Why not just go with the reputable sites and keep it moving?
 
Posts: 129 | Location: New York, NY | Registered: January 23, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Morgan Freeman
Posted Hide Post
If it smells like fish, it must be fish !
 
Posts: 355 | Location: New York | Registered: August 18, 2008Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

BackStage.com    Message Board Homepage  Hop To Forum Categories  Directing and Acting    Is this a scam for money???

© 2008 The Nielsen Company. All rights reserved.